IMG_2006

In case you missed it, we’ve been chatting with one of our top performing team leaders here at Atlantic Solutions. If you need to get caught up, you can find part 1 here. In this next part of our interview with James Schnell, he shares his thoughts on leadership, building professional relationships, and what he thinks of his boss. Check it out!

Being in a position of leadership, how do you balance professionalism and friendliness with your team?

I used to watch my brothers and sisters when my parents were working, and my relationship with my team kind of reminds me of that. I have personal relationships with the guys on my team, however, I respect them and they respect me and trust me enough to follow me as a leader. Anytime I get close with one of the guys on my team, I make sure that they know that this is a professional business first. We’re here to grow together in a professional business environment.

What other qualities do you think make you a strong leader?

I always make sure that I’m at work early. I’m here much earlier than everyone else is every morning. I’m very professional with my image and in my actions as well. I make sure that I stay professional both inside and outside of the office of course. I always make sure that I’m reliable. I respect my guys and they respect me. They know that they can always rely on me for anything job-related or otherwise. I’m very responsible too.

Can you describe DK, the president of Atlantic Solutions? What do you admire about him as a leader?

Even in that first interview with him, he was so so energetic and positive. We had a great connection immediately. He’s such a great mentor. A lot of people respect him. At every conference we go to, everybody loves DK.

He actually reminds me of my dad. My dad actually worked for the buses with the MTA for 32 years. Everywhere he went, people loved him. I still have people that tell me “Oh, I love your dad!” DK reminds me so much of my dad because he’s so loved and respected, you can’t help but really like someone like that. He’s such a good guy, and you know he always has your back. That’s such a cool thing. If somebody does something wrong he doesn’t yell at them, he just takes them to the side and has a good, critical conversation with them. He always makes you feel good. I’ve had a couple bad days. Of course, everyone has bad days. Just one little two-second conversation with him will perk me right back up. He’s the man.

Read the finale to this interview series by clicking here!

 

Leave a Reply

